What Will Happen to My License if I Get a DUI?
Getting a DUI in Georgia will result in several serious penalties, to include a license suspension, fines and jail time, at a minimum. For most first time DUI offenders in Georgia, their license will be suspended for a minimum of 120 days and up to one year. Offenders with a second DUI offense in a span of five years will face a suspension of 18 months or a revocation of five years and third time DUI offenders will face a five-year revocation of their license. Your license will be suspended for longer if you do not cooperate with the officer when they ask you to take a blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, test.
For first time DUI offenders who refuse to take a BAC test at the time of their arrest, their license will be suspended for one year. For second time offenders who refuse to take a BAC test, their license will be suspended for three years and for third time offenders who refuse to take a BAC test, their license will be revoked for five years. As you can see, refusing to take a BAC test when asked has serious consequences and can leave you without a license for several years to come.
In order for your license to be reinstated, you will have to pay a license reinstatement fee of $210 to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, DDS. If your license was revoked, the fee increases to $410.00. You must also adhere to all other requirements for DUI offenders. These requirements for reinstatement can include a clinical drug and alcohol evaluation, completion of a substance abuse program or DUI risk reduction course, having an Ignition Interlock Device installed in your car and submission of evidence of financial responsibility via an SR-22 filing with the DDS. Driving without a valid license can result in a longer license suspension or a total revocation of your license, so be sure to fulfill all the requirements set forth by the Georgia DDS to have your license reinstated after a DUI. By fulfilling all the requirements, you can get back on the road driving as soon as possible.
Are you in the Roswell area and have concerns about your driver’s license after a DUI? Thomas C. Rowsey, P.C. is experienced in DUI defense and will help you get back on the road driving safely and legally as soon as possible. Based in Roswell, GA, Thomas C. Rowsey Attorneys at Law serves those across the greater Atlanta metropolitan area including Roswell, Alpharetta, Marietta, Milton, Dunwoody, Cumming, Johns Creek and Sandy Springs. Contact our office today at (770) 993-5317 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation. Offering expert legal counsel in personal injury, criminal defense and family law, Thomas C. Rowsey Attorneys at Law are here to help.
Posted on behalf of
295 W Crossville Road,
Building 100, Suite 110,
Roswell, GA 30075
Phone: (770) 993-5317
Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM