What Are the Penalties for a Georgia DUI?
Getting a DUI can be an overwhelming experience. If you are facing DUI charges, you may be wondering what will happen if you are convicted. Will you be put in jail? For how long? How long will my license be suspended? These are all valid concerns. Getting a Georgia DUI will result in several penalties, or punishments: many of which are mandatory with no room for negotiation. These penalties will vary based on your whether or not you are 21 years of age, your criminal history, your blood-alcohol content, or BAC, at the time you were driving, and whether your driving under the influence hurt anyone.
A first-time DUI in Georgia is a misdemeanor offense. You will face a mandatory minimum 24 hours in jail if your BAC was .08% or higher but may be given a sentence of between 10 days and one year in a county jail, which the judge may or may not suspend with probation. Your fines will vary from between $300 and $1,000. Your Georgia driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year. You will also be ordered to complete 20-40 hours community service and participate in Georgia’s alcohol education class for DUI offenders, called the Risk Reduction Program. These penalties all increase for repeat offenses.
A second DUI will result in fines between $600 and $1,000. You will face a sentence of between 90 days and one year in jail, part of which may be suspended with probation, however you will need to serve a minimum 72 hours in jail. You will also face 30 days of community service and will need to complete the Risk Reduction Program as well. Your license will be suspended for 18 months. If it is your second or subsequent DUI, the court can also order you to install an Ignition Interlock Device, or IID, in your car. Your third DUI will be considered an aggravated misdemeanor and your fourth DUI will be charged as a felony offense. The penalties for these increase substantially. Fines for a third or fourth DUI range from between $1,000 to $5,000.
For a third DUI you will face a sentence of between 120 days and one year in jail, 15 days of which may not be suspended, and with a fourth DUI you could be behind bars for up to five years. It is important to note that if your last DUI was more than ten years ago, your current DUI will be considered a first offense. If you are facing DUI charges in Georgia, speak to a criminal defense attorney immediately. Knowing what you are up against can help you prepare a strategic defense for court.
Are you in the Roswell, GA area and have questions about DUIs? Thomas C. Rowsey, P.C. is experienced in DUI defense and will fight for your rights in court. Based in historic Roswell, GA, Thomas C. Rowsey Attorneys at Law serves those across the greater Atlanta metropolitan area including Roswell, Alpharetta, Marietta, Milton, Johns Creek, Cumming and Sandy Springs. Contact our office today at (770) 993-5317 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation. Offering expert legal counsel in personal injury, criminal defense and family law, Thomas C. Rowsey Attorneys at Law are here to help.
Posted on behalf of
295 W Crossville Road,
Building 100, Suite 110,
Roswell, GA 30075
Phone: (770) 993-5317
Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM